It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:27 pm

HSC AffiliatesClick here for our affiliate link to Christianbook.comDonate to HSC

Post subject: Newbie- Sticking to Routine
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:29 pm 

Hi!

I'm just officially starting homeschool August 1st. I have a 4 year old, 2.5 year old and a 1.5 year old, all girls. I'm DEAD set on home schooling. I've been researching and dabbling for 3 years. I bought my LOTW curriculum 2 years ago and we did a few letters here and there, but I found it difficult to stick with the home schooling routine. When we were teaching, we all LOVED it! It was energizing and fun. But I'd get to the end of the week and would put off planning and prepping for the following week until the week started and then I'd say "next week" until "next week" turned into "never".

This time, I am planning the entire year in advance. Knowing that planning each week was a hang up for me before, I want to get that out of the way ahead of time. I planned for a M, T, Th, F, schedule to give us PLENTY of make-up/expansion time each week. And we are schooling year round with 3 weeks off for Christmas, several breaks throughout the winter (I am especially hard to motivate in the cold months), and a few throughout the year for family time and vacations. I also have at least 2 weeks worth of "open" school days sprinkled throughout for, again, make-up/expansion days.