It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:37 am

HSC AffiliatesClick here for our affiliate link to Christianbook.comDonate to HSC

Post subject: Typing advice?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:59 pm 

So, DD is learning to type. I am self taught myself, and not the best typist - to put it mildly - tho I do touch-type (rather like knitting -type one, backspace two ; )

So, my question is this:

IF DD is to become a *proficient* typist - unlike her Mother - when she does her typing exercises is it best to type as fast & accurately as she can, and ignore any mistakes, or is it best to backspace over her mistakes & correct them as she goes? Which teaching technique will make her a better typist in the long run?

I know that Darla is a great typist - perhaps some others of you are - appreciate any educational method insights : )

Post subject: Re: Typing advice?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:35 pm 
Site Owner

I learned by doing drills -- same fingers, alternating fingers, etc. It was the best course I took in high school and allowed me to make good money as a secretary when I was in college. My oldest son used a drill book just like I did, and he types very well. The younger kids used various software programs, and they all type acceptably well.
So, all that said, I'd suggest making sure she is using the correct fingers on the keys and developing the muscle memory. Speed will come later.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:14 pm 

Oh - yes- we're using software for drills. (and I self-taught with drills too - I just have no eye-hand coordination - at all - I'm a klutz!) Over and over! She's finally getting so that her fingers know the places & she's starting timed tests in the software. But, she has a CHOICE of going for speed or fixing her mistakes and getting 100% accuracy by backspacing errors. I guess my question is what is the better work habit? Which will give her the greater success in the long run?

Which did you do when you were learning, Martha? Thanks : )