It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:18 pm

HSC AffiliatesClick here for our affiliate link to Christianbook.comDonate to HSC

Post subject: My shocking discovery and new game plan
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:21 pm 

Ok, I know my last post about Christian's reading sounded positive, but unfortunately I think it was a false positive. He seems to make progress, but things just don't stick and remain consistent so that we can move forward, then it regresses. I have been ignoring my gut instincts for a couple years on this. I have been ignoring the red flags and warning signs and just hoping it would get better. But I just know this year is going to end like every other year, with us not really any further along than at the beginning of the year. Something is not right. I don't think I told you guys about the other problems he's having. One really big thing is reversing his b's and d's. Really bad. I know people say this can be normal even at his age still, but it's not just an occasional thing, it's constant. Another thing I've noticed is that he knows the phonogram sounds and rules, but doesn't apply them when he reads the words. If he messes up a word, I can ask what sound "ai" makes and he can tell me, but then he seems to forget when he reads it in a word. Things just don't stick. He also has what I recently found out is called Dysgraphia. He can write rather neatly and legibly if he's forced to, but it takes so much effort that writing three sentences leaves him exhausted, he doesn't space out his words, his spelling is still horrible. He knows "k and not c, with an i or an e", but he forgets when he's writing the words. Yesterday he spelt "notch" like "noch" and his second grade sister walked up, sighed and said "You have to have a consonant before the "ch", put a t". I know every kid is different, but there reaches a point where "different" is a problem and we have reached that point. This is stressing him out so much that he asks me every day if he has to do