It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:00 am

HSC AffiliatesClick here for our affiliate link to Christianbook.comDonate to HSC

Post subject: Bringing the Word into focus.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:32 pm 

I have a friend that is very analytical. She asked me tonight how she could form the habit of regular Bible reading and study. She said she always seems to make it much more difficult than it should be and then she finds herself making excuses not to take the time because she's left with more questions than answers.

I tho't I'd ask here if anybody might have any ideas for a Bible study for an analytical type person that doesn't want to get more confused and have more questions but would like to just read the Word and apply it to her life.

Post subject: Re: Bringing the Word into focus.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:44 pm 

http://www.goarch.org/chapel/

I have an email subscription to daily readings from our Church (available at the above link). I find it helpful because the readings are usually fairly short (with a few exceptions), and they also have some info on the Saint(s) of the day usually.

I find that hearing about the Saint of the day is helpful, because these are the people who put the Word into action.

Even if the reader doesn't "believe in Saints," as such, reading of Missionaries & Martyrs who served God and gave their all can keep the focus off of the what-does-the-writer-mean-by-the-use-of-the-definite-article-here type of focus.

I think the most important thing is to focus on faithfulness in small things, and focus on & apply what parts of the reading we DO understand, instead of trying to do something "big"

(sometimes being analytical is a matter of looking for loopholes - if we hold our own feet to the fire on the parts we DO understand, that can help with that part.)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:15 am